Farewell Australia, and my friends. Till we meet again.

Well my time in Australia is now over.  I am finishing this in the Brisbane Airport, having started back in Lismore at 10:27.  The past four months have been absolutely stellar, but this past week has been tough.  A few days ago I said goodbye to three roommates (only two were in my room [other was a step across the path]), and it was a fairly sad experience.  However the toughest part wasn’t saying goodbye, but rather seeing their rooms stripped down.  That is when reality returned.  Well after a few more goodbyes, I am now on my way home.  I have a five day layover in New Zealand, but that will go very quickly.

Over the past few months in Australia I have seen kangaroos, wallabies, emus, Tasmanian devils, crocodiles, snakes, parrots, magpies (evil ones), flying foxes, lizards, crabs, mantis shrimp, chitons, sea turtles (juvenile and two adults), dingos, pelicans, a platypus, grey nurse sharks, rays, a dugong, and several other animals.  I have been to the Gold Coast Quiksilver Pro, an AFL game, and the Olympic Park.  I got to go on hikes through the local area, swim in the ocean, and travel to Sydney.  For school, I got to sample coastal environments, learn about nutrient cycling, upwelling, ocean processes, and the ecology of marine environments.  I also learned about the views Indigenous groups have on the world, and how ecology is very similar to some of their views.

And everyone I met along the way made it such an awesome experience, and unfortunately I suck at saying goodbye.

So here goes:

“Farewell! wherever you fare, till your eyries receive you at the journey’s end.”  J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit.

To my roommates, you were outstanding.  I am glad to have gotten to know each and every one of you along the way, you guys rock.  This applies to all of 13 at Orion.  To my Eastern Canadian and American friends, I will look forward to our reunions.  You all made the trip a blast, and I am very glad I took the time to get to know you.  I am sad that we are separated by the length of our Continent.

To my Western Canadian and American friends, this is not fully goodbye.  I hope to see some of you fairly regularly, hopefully annually.  To my fellow TRU students I hope to see you at least a few times this semester.

As for the European and Asian friends, thank you for truly making this a world experience.  I understand more about the world as a result of your presence.

For everyone above, stay safe in your travels home.

As for the Australians, thank you for welcoming me into your country.  I hope we stay in touch, and maybe one day I will be back.  Or maybe you will visit me.

“I turn at last to paths, that lead home”  Billy Boyd, The Last Goodbye.

Leave a comment